Ethos and the members of the EEP International join Climate Action 100+

Ethos Foundation and the members of the Ethos Engagement Pool International are founding signatories of the Climate Action 100+ initiative, a five-year, investor-led initiative supported by 225 investors across the globe. Climate Action 100+ will engage the world’s 100 largest corporate greenhouse gas emitters to curb emissions across their value chains, strengthen climate-related financial disclosures, and improve the governance of climate-related risks that may affect companies.

Ethos’ Funds are aligned with the 2° climate target

The results of the climate compatibility test organised by the Federal Office for the Environment (FOEN) in collaboration with the non-governmental organisation (NGO) 2° Investing Initiative were published on 23 October 2017. They show that pension funds are not yet aligned with the target of keeping global warming below 2° as set by the Paris Agreement on December 2015 and of which Switzerland is also a signatory. Ethos also submitted its funds to the test to check their compatibility. According to this assessment, the Ethos funds are compatible with the 2° scenario.

Ethos urges Shell’s shareholders to support resolution to protect climate

Ethos calls on investors to vote FOR item 21 on the agenda of the AGM of Royal Dutch Shell, to be held on May 23, 2017. The shareholder association ‘Follow this’ has filed a shareholder resolution asking the company to set greenhouse gas (GHG) emissions reduction targets compatible with the Paris Agreement to limit global warming to a maximum of 2 degrees Celsius relative to the pre-industrial era. Shell’s board has advised its shareholders to vote against the resolution (Item 21 on the agenda).

Ethos and other investors maintain pressure for safe working conditions in Bangladesh’s textile industry

April 24 2017 marked the 4th anniversary of the Rana Plaza building collapse in Bangladesh, that killed over 1’100 garment workers and injured an additional 2’600. Against this backdrop, a coalition of 137 global institutional investors with over USD 4.3 trillion under management, amongst which Ethos and the 11 members of the Ethos Engagement Pool International, issued a statement highlighting the success of the Bangladesh Accord on Fire and Building Safety (‘Accord’).

Climate change: Ethos Foundation’s five expectations from companies

Ethos publishes an Engagement Paper addressed at listed companies which summarizes investor expectations regarding climate change risk management. Despite the urgency of the issue, currently less than half of the companies listed on SIX Swiss Exchange publish their greenhouse gas emissions.

Swiss Stock Exchange: Ethos asks for mandatory sustainability reporting

In its response to the consultation of SIX Swiss Exchange on the amendment of the directive on information relating to corporate governance (DCG), Ethos asks that the publication of an annual sustainability report become mandatory for listed companies. The amendment of the DCG proposed in the consultation launched by SIX only requires that companies that wish to publish a sustainability report must do so in accordance with an internationally accepted standard. In Ethos’ view, this proposal is unsatisfactory because it leaves the issuers with the option to not publish a sustainability report at all.

Subscribe to Sustainable development

Assemblée générale de Nestlé : Intervention d'Ethos dans le cadre de l'initiative Climate Action 100+

Ethos intervient aujourd’hui à l’assemblée générale de Nestlé dans le cadre de l’initiative « Climate Action 100+ » pour encourager le conseil d’administration à prendre des mesures supplémentaires en matière de risques liés au changement climatique. Ethos demande également au conseil d’administration de tout mettre en œuvre pour réduire les tensions actuelles avec certains stakeholders de la société.

Ethos et les membres de l'EEP International se joignent à Climate Action 100+

La Fondation Ethos et les membres de l’Ethos Engagement Pool International font partie des membres fondateurs de l’initiative « Climate Action 100+ ». Cette initiative composée de 225 investisseurs institutionnels enjoint les 100 entreprises les plus émettrices de gaz à effet de serre dans le monde à non seulement restreindre leurs émissions, mais également à divulguer davantage d’informations financières liées au climat et à améliorer leur gouvernance pour faire face aux risques climatiques.

Les fonds Ethos compatibles avec l’objectif climatique 2°

Les résultats du test climatique organisé par l’Office fédéral de l’environnement (OFEV) en collaboration avec l’Organisation non gouvernementale (ONG) 2° Investing Initiative ont été publiés le 23 octobre 2017. Ils montrent que les caisses de pension ne sont pas encore alignées avec l’objectif de maintien du réchauffement climatique à 2° tel que fixé par l’Accord de Paris sur le climat en décembre 2015 et dont la Suisse est signataire. Ethos a également soumis ses fonds de placement à l’enquête pour vérifier leur compatibilité. Selon cette évaluation, les fonds Ethos sont parfaitement compatibles avec le scénario 2°.

Ethos appelle les actionnaires de Shell à soutenir une résolution pour protéger le climat

Ethos appelle les investisseurs à voter POUR le point 21 à l’ordre du jour de l’Assemblée générale de Royal Dutch Shell qui se tiendra le 23 mai 2017. L’association des actionnaires « Follow this » a déposé une résolution appelant la société à fixer des objectifs de réduction des gaz à effets de serre qui soient compatibles avec les Accords de Paris visant à limiter le réchauffement climatique à un maximum de 2 degrés Celsius par rapport à l’ère préindustrielle. Le Conseil d’administration de Shell a, quant à lui, appelé les actionnaires à voter contre cette résolution.

Ethos et d’autres investisseurs maintiennent la pression pour plus de sécurité au travail dans l’industrie textile au Bangladesh

Le 24 avril 2017 a marqué le quatrième anniversaire de l’effondrement de l’usine Rana Plaza au Bangladesh, qui a provoqué la mort d’au moins 1'100 ouvriers et en a blessé 2'600 autres. A cette occasion, un regroupement de 137 investisseurs globaux avec plus de USD 4.3 trillions d’actifs sous gestion, dont Ethos et les 11 membres de l’Ethos Engagement Pool International, a publié une déclaration saluant le succès de « l’Accord sur la sécurité incendie et bâtiments au Bangladesh » (« l’Accord »).

Changement climatique : Les cinq attentes de la Fondation Ethos envers les entreprises

Ethos publie un document de dialogue (Engagement Paper) à l’attention des sociétés cotées résumant les attentes des investisseurs sur la gestion des risques liés au changement climatique. En effet, malgré l’urgence de la problématique, moins de la moitié des sociétés cotées à la bourse suisse publient leurs émissions de gaz à effet de serre.

Bourse suisse : Ethos demande la publication obligatoire d’un rapport de développement durable

Dans le cadre de la consultation de la Bourse suisse (SIX Swiss Exchange) sur une révision de la Directive Corporate Governance (DCG), Ethos demande qu’il soit obligatoire pour les émetteurs de publier un rapport de développement durable. En effet, la révision soumise à consultation demande uniquement que, si un émetteur souhaite publier un rapport de développement durable, il doive le faire conformément à une norme internationale reconnue. Pour Ethos, la proposition de la Bourse est insatisfaisante car elle laisse la possibilité aux émetteurs de ne pas publier un rapport de développement durable. 

S'abonner à Développement durable