Products

Products

Ethos products for socially responsible investments

Ethos offers four product lines dedicated to socially responsible investments and to the promotion of sustainability in the finance industry.

Fondation

Ethos Foundation

the Foundation for Socially Responsible Investment and Active Shareownership

Ethos, Swiss Foundation for Sustainable Development, is composed of Swiss pension funds and institutions. Ethos was founded in 1997 and aims at promoting socially responsible investment (SRI) as well as a stable and prosperous socio-economic environment that safeguards the interests of civil society today and in the future.

Find out more

Focus

Focus

Ethos’ sustainability indices

Ethos offers two sustainability-focused indices, respectively in Swiss and world equities. These indices capitalise on Ethos’ 20 years of experience in environmental, social and governance (ESG) analysis.

Ethos Swiss Corporate Governance Index (ESCGI): Sustainability index for Swiss equities

The Ethos Swiss Corporate Governance Index measures the performance of SPI components under the constraint of Corporate Governance best practice. Ethos’ « Eight SRI principles » is the reference for calculating the weighting of companies included in the « Swiss Performance Index (SPI) ». Moreover, the ESCGI index is calculated by SIX Swiss Exchange, which allows Ethos to benefit from the best competencies in the construction of indexes for Swiss equities.

Ethos Index on MSCI World: Sustainability index for world equities

The Ethos Index on MSCI World is offered in collaboration with MSCI and excludes from the traditional index companies where more than 5% of global turnover is realised through activities excluded according to Ethos’ « Eight SRI principles » (principles 2 and 3). These exclusions cover approximately 10% of the traditional index.

More information
Special focus on general meetings

Ethos provides analyses of all items of shareholder meeting agendas of Swiss listed companies. Investors can subscribe to the proxy analyses services, which include access to Ethos' online platform. For the shareholder meetings of Swiss listed companies, Ethos publishes its voting recommendations on its web page 2 working days prior to the date of the general meeting.

Ethos’ reports include a detailed analysis of each item on the agenda and voting recommendations based on Ethos' Corporate Governance Principles and Proxy Voting Guidelines. Also, the analyses include general information on each company, in particular its Board of Directors and Executive remuneration. The analyses are sent to clients by e-mail, generally at least twelve days prior to the General Meetings. A comprehensive quarterly report provides a summary of all items voted.

More information

Support

Ethos supports / is a signatory of

  • Principles for Responsible Investment PRI
  • United Nations Global Compact
  • Montréal Carbon Pledge
  • UK Stewardship Code
  • ASIP Charter
  • ICGN Global Stewardship Principles
  • Guidelines for institutional investors
Fermer

The "Principles for Responsible Investment PRI" have been elaborated by an international group of institutional investors in order to meet increasing concerns of environmental, social and governance (ESG) issues for investment decision-making.

This process was initiated by the ex-Secretary General of the United Nations Organisation, Kofi Annan. Ethos’ support for these principles is a matter of course insofar as its Charter of 1997 has already largely integrated the principles formulated in 2006. In fact, the Charter stipulates that the Foundation shall integrate environmental and social factors into its investment policy in order to promote sustainable development. Ethos signed the PRI in 2006.

Fermer

Ethos is a signatory of the UN Global Compact.

Signatories commit to implement the ten principles of the Global Compact on human rights, labour, environment and anti-corruption.

Fermer

Ethos is a signatory of the Montréal Carbon Pledge.

By signing the Montréal Carbon Pledge, investors acknowledge that their investments are exposed to long-term risks linked to greenhouse gas emissions and to climate change. The signatories of the Montréal Carbon Pledge commit to measure and publicly disclose the carbon footprint of their investment portfolios on an annual basis. In this context, Ethos communicates the carbon emissions of all its equity portfolios.

Fermer

Since 2011 Ethos adheres to the regulations of the UK Stewardship Code. The UK Stewardship Code is a best practice code for institutional investors, asset managers and consultants established by the UK independent regulator the Financial Reporting Council.

The code sets out good practice on engagement with investee companies to which institutional investors should aspire. It contains seven principles that should apply in regard to stewardship activities. The principles include the exercise of shareowner voting rights in investee companies. Institutional investors should establish clear guidelines, not only with regard to the vote, but also relative to their engagement activities and collaboration with other investors. They should also specify when and how they escalate their activities in order to protect and enhance shareholder value.

Fermer

Ethos is a signatory of the Charter of the Swiss Association of Pension Funds (ASIP).

Fermer

Ethos endorses the ICGN Global Stewardship Principles. These Principles set out ICGN's view of best practices in relation to investor stewardship obligations, policies and processes.

Fermer

Ethos adheres to the “Guidelines for institutional investors governing the exercising of participation rights in public limited companies”.

These Guidelines describe best practices relating to the exercising of participation rights. These Guidelines describe best practices relating to the exercising of participation rights. The Guidelines were presented on January 21, 2013 in Zurich by representatives of the Swiss businesses, institutional investors and proxy advisors. Ethos participated in the drafting of these principles.

Produkte

Produkte

Die Ethos Produkte für nachhaltige Anlagen

Ethos bietet 4 Produktlinien an, die sich ganz auf nachhaltige Anlagen und die Förderung der Nachhaltigkeit im Finanzsektor konzentrieren.

Fondation

Ethos Stiftung

die Stiftung für nachhaltige Anlagen und aktives Aktionariat

Ethos, Schweizerische Stiftung für nachhaltige Entwicklung, schliesst schweizerische Pensionskassen und Institutionen zusammen. Sie wurde 1997 zur Förderung einer nachhaltigen Anlagetätigkeit gegründet und setzt sich für ein stabiles und gesundes Wirtschaftsumfeld ein, das die Interessen der Gesellschaft als Ganzes langfristig wahrt.

Mehr lesen

Focus

Focus

Die Nachhaltigkeitsindizes von Ethos

Ethos offeriert zwei Nachhaltigkeitsindizes für Schweizer Aktien sowie für ausländische Aktien. Diese Indizes reflektieren die 20-jährige Erfahrung von Ethos bei der Analyse und Entwicklung von Umwelt,- Sozial- und Governance Kriterien (ESG) für börsenkotierte Gesellschaften.

Ethos Swiss Corporate Governance Index (ESCGI): Nachhaltigkeitsindex für Schweizer Aktien

Der ESCGI setzt einen speziellen Akzent auf die Gesellschaften, welche die Best Practice der Corporate Governance in ihren Unternehmen respektieren. Die « Grundsätze zur Corporate Governance von Ethos » dienen als Referenzwert, um die Gewichtung der Unternehmen des Index « Swiss Performance Index (SPI) » zu berechnen. Der ESCGI wird zudem von der Schweizer Börse « SIX Swiss Exchange » kalkuliert. Dies erlaubt Ethos, einen mit den besten Kompetenzen ausgestatteten Index für Schweizer Aktien zu konstruieren.

Ethos Index on MSCI World: Nachhaltigkeitsindex für internationale Aktien

Der Ethos Index on MSCI World wird in Zusammenarbeit mit MSCI offeriert und schliesst vom traditionellen Index Unternehmen aus, welche mehr als 5% des Umsatzes in den von Ethos ausgeschlossenen Sektoren (gemäss den Ethos Prinzipien für nachhaltige Anlagen 2 und 3) erwirtschaften. Diese Ausschlüsse entsprechen ungefähr 10% der Kapitalisation des traditionellen Index.

Weitere Informationen
Generalversammlungen: Spezialdossier

Ethos bietet Analysen der Traktandenlisten der Generalversammlungen der börsenkotierten Schweizer Unternehmen sowie ausführliche Informationen zu den Gesellschaften an. Für die Generalversammlungen Schweizer Unternehmen veröffentlicht Ethos seine Abstimmungsempfehlungen 2 Werktage vor der jeweiligen GV auf seiner Website.

Die Berichte über die Generalversammlungen enthalten eine detaillierte Analyse jedes einzelnen Traktandums und Stimmempfehlungen. Diese beruhen auf den Ethos Grundsätzen zur Corporate Governance und Richtlinien zur Ausübung der Stimmrechte. Die Analysen umfassen auch allgemeine Angaben zum Unternehmen, insbesondere die Zusammensetzung des Verwaltungsrats und die Vergütungen der Führungsinstanzen. Die Analysen werden in der Regel zwölf Tage vor den Generalversammlungen per E-Mail übermittelt. Zudem fasst ein vierteljährlicher Gesamtbericht die Abstimmungen des Quartals übersichtlich zusammen.

Weitere Informationen

Unterstützung

Ethos unterstützt / ist unterzeichnerin von

  • Principles for Responsible Investment PRI
  • United Nations Global Compact
  • Montréal Carbon Pledge
  • UK Stewardship Code
  • ASIP-Charta
  • ICGN Global Stewardship Principles
  • Richtlinien für Institutionelle Investoren
Fermer

Die Principles for Responsible Investment PRI wurden von einer internationalen Gruppe institutioneller Investoren ausgearbeitet.

Damit soll der wachsenden Bedeutung von Umwelt-, Sozial- und Corporate-Governance-Fragen in der Anlagepraxis Rechnung getragen werden. Der ehemalige Generalsekretär der Vereinten Nationen, Kofi Annan, initierte diese Prinzipien. Die von Ethos 1997 formulierte Charta enthält bereits weitgehend die PRI: Ethos berücksichtigt bei ihrer Anlagepolitik Umwelt- und Sozialbewertungen, um die nachhaltige Entwicklung zu fördern. Daher unterzeichnete Ethos die PRI im Jahr 2006.

Fermer

Ethos hat den UN Global Compact unterzeichnet.

Die Unterzeichner verpflichten sich zur Einhaltung der zehn Prinzipien in den Bereichen Menschenrechte, internationale Arbeitsnormen, Umwelt und Korruptionsbekämpfung.

 

Fermer

Ethos hat den Montréal Carbon Pledge unterzeichnet.

Die Unterzeichner des Montréal Carbon Pledge sind sich ihrer Pflicht bewusst, als Investoren im langfristigen Interesse der Begünstigten zu handeln. Sie erkennen an, dass langfristige, durch Treibhausgasemissionen und den Klimawandel bedingte Risiken für ihre Investitionen bestehen. Die unterzeichnenden Investoren verpflichten sich, den Kohlenstoff-Fussabdruck ihrer Anlagen jährlich zu messen und zu veröffentlichen. In diesem Rahmen wird künftig die Kohlenstoffintensität aller Ethos Aktien-Portfolios veröffentlicht.

Fermer

Seit dem Jahr 2011 übernimmt Ethos die Regulierung des britischen "UK Stewardship Code". Der UK Stewardship Code ist ein Kodex guter Vermögensverwaltung für institutionelle Investoren und Finanzdienstleister und wurde vom unabhängigen britischen Regulator „Financial Reporting Council (FRC)“ erlassen.

Er stellt Regeln für deren Umgang mit der treuhänderischen Verantwortung in der Vermögensverwaltung auf. Diese Verantwortung umfasst ausdrücklich die Ausübung der Aktionärsrechte bei den Unternehmen, in die investiert wird. Zum Schutz und zur Wertsteigerung der Anlagen sollen institutionelle Investoren ihre Arbeitsweise mit den Unternehmen und Intensivierung der Massnahmen festlegen und offenlegen. Dazu gehört namentlich, wie sie ihre Aktionärstimmrechte ausüben, den Dialog mit den Unternehmensführungen pflegen, Aktionärsanträge stellen oder mit anderen Investoren zusammenarbeiten.

Fermer

Ethos hat die Charta des Schweizerischen Pensionskassenverbands ASIP unterzeichnet.

Fermer

Ethos unterstützt die ICGN Global Stewardship Principles. In diesen Grundsätzen wird die Best Practice gemäss ICGN in Bezug auf Verpflichtungen, Richtlinien und Prozesse dargelegt.

Fermer

Ethos wendet die «Richtlinien für Institutionelle Investoren zur Ausübung ihrer Mitwirkungsrechte bei Aktiengesellschaften» an.

Diese Richtlinien beschreiben Best-Practices für Institutionelle Investoren zur Ausübung ihrer Mitwirkungsrechte bei Aktiengesellschaften. Die Richtlinien wurden am 21. Januar 2013 in Zürich von Vertretern der Wirtschaft, institutionellen Investoren und Stimmrechtsberatern vorgestellt. Ethos hat an der Herausgabe dieser Richtlinien teilgenommen.