Ethos study on the 2017 annual general meetings: Increased Contestation

Increase in shareholder opposition in 2017: This is the conclusion of Ethos’ annual study on the general meetings, executive remuneration and corporate governance of companies listed in Switzerland. Overall, 14% of the resolutions received less than 90% support from shareholders, compared to 12% last year. The shareholders were particularly critical when voting on the remuneration of the board and management. In parallel to the publication of its study, Ethos also communicates its expectations for the draft revision of company law which is currently being discussed in Parliament.

Yes to more transparency on consultancy mandates of proxy advisors

SIX Swiss Exchange has launched a consultation on a new provision of its Corporate Governance Directive. The consultation deals with the obligation of listed companies to publish the names of the proxy advisors to whom they have entrusted services other than proxy voting advice. In such a case, the fees paid to these proxy advisors must also be disclosed. Ethos supports this new provision which aims at reigning in conflicts of interest of certain proxy advisors.

Sika Annual General Meeting: Ethos renews its support to the board members not linked to the Burkard family

At the annual general meeting of Sika to be held on 11 April 2017, the Ethos Foundation recommends to support the reelection of the 6 board members not tied to the Burkard family. Those directors have demonstrated for more than two years their commitment in maintaining Sika’s independence against the hostile takeover by Saint-Gobain. Ethos however recommends not to grant the discharge and not reelect the three board members representing the Burkard family (Urs Burkard, Willi Leimer, Jürgen Tinggren). In addition, Ethos recommends to not newly elect Dr. Jacques Bischoff, a representative of SWH, whose candidacy to the board was submitted by the Burkard family after the deadline for inclusion in the AGM agenda.

Ethos launches the first Swiss stock exchange index dedicated to corporate governance

In the follow-up to its 20th anniversary, the Ethos Foundation launches a new stock exchange index dedicated to corporate governance at Swiss companies. In collaboration with the Swiss Stock Exchange (SIX Swiss Exchange), Ethos publishes the "Ethos Swiss Corporate Governance Index" (ESCGI) which takes into account the main corporate governance best practice criteria in order to define the weight of the different constituents. This is the first index of this type on the Swiss stock market. The index allows investors to reduce the weight of companies that entail a corporate governance risk.

Ethos proxy voting guidelines 2017: New good governance requirements

The Ethos Foundation publishes the 16th edition of its proxy voting guidelines and corporate governance principles. In particular, the 2017 edition foresees that members of the executive management will no longer be accepted as board members. In addition, the maximum duration of the external audit firm’s mandate is set at 20 years in line with the practice adopted by the European Union. Regarding authorisations to issue capital for general purposes without pre-emptive rights, a single authority may not exceed 15% of issued capital down from 20% currently. Finally, the discharge will not be granted to the governing bodies, in particular when the company is in the situation of capital loss or over indebtedness.

Sika: Ethos welcomes the decision of the Zug Cantonal Court

Ethos is very satisfied that the Zug Cantonal Court has rejected the suit by the Burkard Family against the board of Sika. This decision confirms the board’s entitlement to limit the voting rights of the Burkard Family for votes related to the sale of their shares to the competitor Saint-Gobain. This restriction allows maintaining the independence of Sika, as aimed for by the board, the executive management and the majority of shareholders, among which Ethos. In light of the importance of this decision for Sika and the Swiss economy, Ethos will continue as an accessory party in this legal procedure if the Burkard Family appeals the decision of the court.

Ethos study on the 2016 Swiss annual general meetings: limits of self-regulation

The annual general meetings of Swiss listed companies have been shaped in the last two years by the implementation of the Minder initiative which foresees a binding vote on the pay for the governing bodies and the annual election of board members. These provisions have significantly increased pressure on boards. Ethos’ study on the 204 companies of the SPI Index shows that the transparency and structure of remuneration systems have substantially improved. Vincent Kaufmann, Ethos’ CEO, says “however, the absolute amounts in 2015 are up 2% and often remain high, especially with regard to company performance.”

Sika : Ethos recommends to support the board at the annual general meeting of 12.04.2016

Geneva, 24.03.2016 - At the annual general meeting of Sika of 12.04.2016 Ethos Foundation is fundamentally opposed to the re-election of the three members of the board tied to the Burkard Family (Urs Burkard, Willi Leimer, Jürgen Tinggren) and to the election of Jacques Bischoff, the new candidate proposed by the Burkard Family. On the other hand, Ethos recommends voting in favour of the shareholder resolution filed by the group of Anglo-American shareholders united around Cascade Investment, which demands to prolong until 2020 the mission entrusted to three independent experts appointed last year.

Sika: Ethos supports the board in the ongoing legal procedure at the Court of Zug

The Ethos Foundation was accepted as an accessory party in support of the board of directors in the trial opposing it to the Burkard Family at the Cantonal Court of Zug. The family has demanded the cancellation of the decisions taken at the last general meeting where the board decided to limit the registered voting rights of the SWH family holding to 5% of the total registered shares. Precisely one year after the announcement by the Burkard Family of its decision to sell its holding in Sika to the competitor Saint Gobain, Ethos confirms its determination to support the board in its will to preserve the independence of Sika.

Subscribe to Corporate Governance

Ethos Studie über die Generalversammlungen 2017: Der Widerstand nimmt zu

Der Widerstand der Aktionäre ist 2017 gestiegen, dies zeigt die jährliche Ethos Studie über die Generalversammlungen, Vergütungen und Corporate Governance der in der Schweiz kotierten Unternehmen. Insgesamt wurden 14% der Anträge mit weniger als 90% Ja-Stimmen von den Aktionären angenommen, im Vergleich zu 12% im vergangenen Jahr. Bei den Abstimmungen über die Vergütungen der Führungsinstanzen zeigten sich die Aktionäre besonders kritisch. Parallel zur Veröffentlichung ihrer Studie gibt Ethos auch ihre Erwartungen an den zurzeit im Parlament beratenen Entwurf zur Revision des Aktienrechts bekannt.

Ja zu mehr Transparenz bei den Beratungsmandaten der Proxy Advisors (Stimmrechtsberater)

Die Schweizer Börse SIX Swiss Exchange hat eine neue Bestimmung ihrer Richtlinie betr. Informationen zur Corporate Governance in die Vernehmlassung gegeben. Die Bestimmung soll die kotierten Gesellschaften verpflichten, die Namen der Proxy Advisors (Stimmrechtsberater) zu veröffentlichen, die sie mit anderen Dienstleistungen als den Stimmempfehlungen betraut haben. In diesen Fällen sollen auch die Honorare dieser Proxy Advisors bekanntgegeben werden. Ethos befürwortet diese neue Bestimmung, mit der die Interessenkonflikte gewisser Stimmrechtsberater vermieden werden sollen.

Sika-Generalversammlung: Ethos erneuert ihre Unterstützung der Verwaltungsratsmitglieder ohne Verbindung zur Familie Burkard

An der Generalversammlung der Sika vom 11.4.2017 wird die Ethos Stiftung die Wiederwahl der sechs Verwaltungsratsmitglieder ohne Verbindung zur Familie Burkard empfehlen. Diese setzen sich seit mehr als zwei Jahren zum Erhalt der Unabhängigkeit von Sika gegen die feindliche Übernahme durch Saint-Gobain ein. Ethos empfiehlt dahingegen, die Entlastung sowie die Wiederwahl der drei die Familie Burkard vertretenden Verwaltungsratsmitglieder (Urs Burkard, Willi Leimer, Jürgen Tinggren) abzulehnen. Weiterhin empfiehlt Ethos, die Wahl von Prof. Jacques Bischoff, einem Vertreter der SWH, abzulehnen, der von der Familie Burkard nach Ablauf der Traktandierungsfrist zur Wahl in den Verwaltungsrat vorgeschlagen wurde.

Ethos lanciert den ersten Schweizer Börsenindex, der Corporate Governance Risiken berücksichtigt

Auf ihr 20-jähriges Jubiläum lanciert die Ethos Stiftung einen neuen Börsenindex, der Corporate Governance Themen bei Schweizer Unternehmen berücksichtigt. In Zusammenarbeit mit der Schweizer Börse (SIX Swiss Exchange) publiziert Ethos den Index « Ethos Swiss Corporate Governance Index (ESCGI) », welcher zur Bestimmung der Gewichtung der Unternehmen innerhalb dieses Index die wesentlichen Kriterien einer Good Governance miteinbezieht. Es handelt sich um den ersten Index dieser Art an der Schweizer Börse, welcher es den Investoren ermöglicht, die Gewichtung von Unternehmen mit Governance Risiken zu reduzieren.

Ethos-Richtlinien zur Ausübung der Stimmrechte 2017: neue Anforderungen der Good Corporate Governance

Die Ethos Stiftung veröffentlicht die 16. Ausgabe ihrer Richtlinien zur Ausübung der Stimmrechte und Grundsätze zur Corporate Governance. Die Ausgabe 2017 sieht namentlich vor, den Einsitz von Mitgliedern der Geschäftsleitung im Verwaltungsrat von kotierten Unternehmen nicht mehr zu akzeptieren. Zudem ist vorgesehen, die maximale Mandatsdauer für die Revisionsstelle auf 20 Jahre festzulegen, gemäss der von der EU adoptierten Praxis. In Bezug auf die Genehmigungen, Kapital für allgemeine Zwecke ohne Bezugsrecht auszugeben, darf der genehmigte Betrag 15% des ausgegebenen Kapitals nicht übersteigen, anstelle der 20% bis anhin. Schliesslich wird den Führungsinstanzen im Fall von Kapitalverlust oder Überschuldung die Entlastung nicht erteilt.

Sika: Ethos begrüsst die Entscheidung des Kantonsgerichts Zug

Ethos nimmt die Abweisung der Klage der Familie Burkard gegen den Verwaltungsrat von Sika durch das Kantonsgericht Zug mit grosser Genugtuung zur Kenntnis. Das Urteil bestätigt das Recht des Verwaltungsrats, die Stimmrechte der Familie Burkard bei Abstimmungen, die den Verkauf ihrer Aktien an den Konkurrenten Saint-Gobain betreffen, zu beschränken. Die vom Verwaltungsrat, der Geschäftsleitung und der Mehrheit der Aktionäre, zu denen auch Ethos gehört, verfochtene Unabhängigkeit bleibt somit erhalten. In Anbetracht der Bedeutung dieses Urteils für Sika und den Wirtschaftsstandort Schweiz erhält Ethos ihren Status als Nebenintervenientin in diesem Rechtsstreit aufrecht, falls die Familie Burkard gegen den Entscheid des Gerichts Beschwerde einlegt.

Ethos Studie über die Schweizer Generalversammlungen 2016: Grenzen der Selbstregulierung

Die Generalversammlungen der kotierten Schweizer Unternehmen sind seit zwei Jahren von der Umsetzung der Minder-Initiative geprägt, welche bindende Abstimmungen zur Vergütung der Führungsinstanzen und die jährliche Wahl der Verwaltungsratsmitglieder vorsieht. Diese Bestimmungen haben den Druck auf die Verwaltungsräte stark erhöht. Wie die Ethos Studie über die 204 Unternehmen des SPI zeigt, haben sich die Transparenz und Struktur der Vergütungssysteme markant verbessert. Vincent Kaufmann, Direktor von Ethos: „Der Gesamtbetrag der Vergütungen ist 2015 jedoch um durchschnittlich 2% gestiegen und bleibt angesichts der erzielten Ergebnisse oft besonders hoch.“

Sika: Ethos empfiehlt die Unterstützung des Verwaltungsrats an der Generalversammlung vom 12.04.2016

Genf, 24.03.2016 – An der Generalversammlung der Sika vom 12.4.2016 wird die Ethos Stiftung nachdrücklich die Wiederwahl der drei Mitglieder des Verwaltungsrats mit Verbindung zur Familie Burkard (Urs Burkard, Willi Leimer, Jürgen Tinggren) und die Wahl von Jacques Bischoff, dem neuen von der Familie Burkard vorgeschlagenen Kandidaten, ablehnen. Dahingegen empfiehlt Ethos, für den Antrag der Aktionärsgruppe um Cascade Investment zu stimmen, welche eine Verlängerung der Mandatsdauer für die letztes Jahr eingesetzten drei unabhängigen Sachverständigen bis 2020 beantragt.

Subscribe to Corporate Governance